Dubai Municipality responds to rumours of Oreo biscuits containing alcohol
17 May 2019
The photo has been used for illustrative purposes.
Dubai has refuted the rumours of famous Oreo chocolate biscuits containing alcohol.
The Dubai Municipality said on its Instagram page, “Dubai Municipality denies the rumour of the Oreo chocolate contains alcohol. The Municipality asserts that the product in the local markets is alcohol free, but there was a mistake translating the food card into Arabic. The word "chocolate liquor," which means Cocoa paste extract were translated to Alcohol.”
Recently social media was abuzz with the debate that Oreo is not halal, and some sought explanation from the authorities.
An Instagram user, who goes by the name, “mras218” said, “Good job to clarify by authority. Appreciate if you can clarify regularly as many people without thinking say anything. Good Job…”
Authorities have urged residents not to indulge in sharing false information on social media.