VIDEO: Ronaldo crowned Player of the Century as Lewandoski claims Player of the Year award in Dubai - GulfToday

VIDEO: Ronaldo crowned Player of the Century as Lewandoski claims Player of the Year award in Dubai


Sheikh Mansoor with Cristiano Ronaldo during the award ceremony in Dubai.

Mohammad Abdullah, Staff Reporter

Juventus and Portugal star Cristiano Ronaldo crowned Player of the Century at the Dubai Globe football Awards on Sunday.

Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola was named Coach of the Century. Bayern Munich’s top striker Robert Lewandowski claimed Player of the Year award. Lewandoski was also named FIFA Men's Player of the Year last week, ahead of Lionel Messi and Ronaldo.

Sheikh Mansoor Bin Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Chairman of Dubai Sports Council, crowned the winners of this year’s Dubai Globe football Awards at a glittering ceremony on Sunday night.

Organised in collaboration with Dubai Sports Council and Dubai International Sports Conference, Dubai Globe football Awards honoured the best players, coaches, clubs and agents of the year as well as the century (2001-2020) at the Awards ceremony, which was held at the Armani Hotel with the majestic Burj Khalifa forming the backdrop.

Ronaldo, who already has won five times Player of the Year at the Globe football Awards, went a step ahead and scooped the Player of the Century honours for his exploits in a career spanning over 20 years.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR 2020: Robert Lewandowski

PLAYER OF THE CENTURY 2001 – 2020: Cristiano Ronaldo



CLUB OF THE YEAR 2020: Bayern Munich

CLUB OF THE CENTURY 2001 – 2020: Real Madrid


Sheikh Mansoor conferred the award for the Player of the Century (2001 to 2020) on Portugal and Juventus star Ronaldo, who is a five-time winner of the Ballon d’Or and one of the most decorated players of the modern era.

A delighted Ronaldo thanked everybody, who has been associated with in his journey.

"I want to thank Globe football, the clubs I have played for, all of you, my family, my girlfriend, who has been with me through ups and downs,” said Ronaldo.

"It is a great achievement for me. As I said it gives me motivation.

This is never going to be over and we can enjoy more. Thanks for the trophy.

It is a great achievement. I am really proud and happy. This motivates me to carry on the journey and enjoy the moments, fans, players and all that life is giving me,” he added.

Ronaldo has scored 750 goals so far in his career. He reached the magical figure with a 58th minute strike against Dynamo Kiev in a Champions League match earlier this year.

Ronaldo guided Juventus to Italian League title in 2019-20 when the season resumed after a long break due to virus. Since joining Juventus in 2018, he won back-to-back Italian titles with club, scoring 75 goals for them across all the competitions so far.

Ronaldo began his career at Sporting Lisbon and scored his first senior goal on his debut in a 3-0 victory over Moreirense in 2002.

Since then there was no looking back.

He moved to Manchester United in 2003 where he was groomed under the watchful eyes of Sir Alex Ferguson.

Ronaldo won three Premier League titles, including a Champions League laurel during his six years stint at the United.

He also claimed an FA Cup, the League Cup twice and a FIFA Club World Cup at the Manchester club. He scored 188 goals for United and won the first of his five Ballon d'Or awards.

For Real Madrid he became the club's all-time leading scorer with 450 in all competitions. He won two La Liga titles and the Copa del Rey on two occasions as well as the Champions League four times, the UEFA Super Cup twice and the FIFA Club World Cup three times.

On the other hand, Lewandowski completed the treble by winning the Player of the Year, already having won the UEFA and FIFA Player of the Year titles earlier this season. Sheikh Mansoor gave the Best Player of Year Award to Poland and Bayern Munich ace Robert Lewandowski.

After receiving the award, Lewandowski said: "I am thrilled to receive the award from none other.

"I will dedicate this award to family and fans. To my father, who is not with us now. But I Know he sees me. Dreams do come true and I used to dream of winning such laurels and to be able to stand alongside Messi and Ronaldo. I hope to see you all next year,” said Lewandowski.

Lewandowski was in a league of his own in 2019/20, finishing the season as top scorer in the Bundesliga (34), DFB Cup (six) and UEFA Champions League (15) as Bayern claimed their second continental treble.

As a reference point, Messi and Ronaldo - who have won 11 of the last 12 Ballon d'Or prizes - scored 31 and 37 times respectively. Poland captain was named the FIFA Best Men’s Player for 2020 after his 55-goal season lifted Bayern to a sweep of international and domestic trophies.

Bayern Munich, winners of the Champions League, Bundesliga, and DFB-Pokal treble last season, were declared the Club of the Year and Lewandowski accepted the award on their behalf.

Real Madrid - winners of five UEFA Champions League, four UEFA Super Cup, one Intercontinental Cup, four FIFA Club World Cups, seven Spanish La Liga titles, two Copa Del Rey and six Supercopa de Espana in this millennium - were adjudged Club of the Century (2001-2020).

In the battle for Coach of the Year, Bayern Munich’s treble-winning boss Hans-Dieter Flick edged Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp and Gian Piero Gasperini, manager of Italian club Atalanta, for the honours.

Spaniard Pep Guardiola was named Coach of the Century (2001-2020), ahead of current Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane, Manchester United legend Alex Ferguson and ‘Special One’ Jose Mourinho.

Related articles