Rubio resigns supreme at Dubai Duty Free Golf Cup - GulfToday

Rubio resigns supreme at Dubai Duty Free Golf Cup


Colm McLoughlin along with Sinead El Sibai present the trophy to Alberto Rubio, winner of the 26th DDF Golf Cup.

The rolling fairways of the Earth Course at Jumeirah Golf Estates played host to the 26th annual Dubai Duty Free (DDF) Golf Cup on Friday.

On what was a hot and humid day in Dubai, 92 players took to the field in search for the Dubai Duty Free Cup.

Champion golfer on the day was Alberto Rubio with a scintillating 43 points, three consecutive birdies helping him along nicely on the front nine.

This combined with some very consistent play for the remaining holes handed Alberto a two-point lead from the rest of the field.

With the champion golfer crowned it was on to the men’s division: in third place was Richard Collins with 40 points, also scoring 40 points and after a card playoff Subhojit Biswas placed second. Home advantage and recent form helped Klaus Hansson to 41 points winning the men’s division on the day.

The Ladies Division played between the better half of the field was won by Orla Shorten with 41 points, ten points clear of her nearest competitor Gabby Greipel in second place with 31 and Beatrice Galeppini two back on 39 points.

The seniors division was a fiercely fought contest with a card playoff required to determine the winner, scoring one better on the back nine eventual winner and beating his playing partner was Aziz Salem with a score of 38 points.

Commenting on the success of the tournament, Colm McLoughlin, Executive Vice Chairman & CEO of Dubai Duty Free said, “This is the 26th year we have been running this event and it is great to see so many of you here again today.

“We are the proud hosts of many events through the year and this one tends to mark the end of the golfing season in Dubai and it is always a great high to go out on.

“But we look forward to seeing some of you back in September for the DDF Seniors Cup. My thanks to all participants and thank you to Jumeirah Golf Estates for staging the tournament.”

Other winners of the day are, Barry McGettigan who took charge in the Gross division with a score of 71 (-1) and Aayan Dadabhoy won the Junior Division with 29 points.

Winner of the Ladies nearest to the pin on hole thirteen was won by Beatrice Galeppini and Shenal Patel won the ladies longest drive on hole two. In the gents’ contest Richard Collins won the nearest to the Pin on hole six and Jack Sephton won the longest drive on hole fourteen.

Meanwhile, on June 14, Sharjah Golf and Shooting Club (SGSC) hosted one of its oldest major — the 12th Summer Open Golf Championship — a field of 40+ players battled it out to be this years champion.


Related articles