Mavericks claim Dubai Ramadan League title - GulfToday

Mavericks claim Dubai Ramadan League title


Mavericks Cricket Club’s players pose with the trophy after winning the Ramadan League at the Sevens Ground in Dubai on Sunday.

Mavericks Cricket Club routed TNS Pulse Secure by 80 runs in the final of the JK White sponsored Dubai Cricket Council’s Ramadan League at the Sevens ground on Sunday night.

Put into bat Mavericks scored 229 for 5 from their allotted 25 overs and later bowled out Pulse Secure for 149 in 23.1 overs.

This was Mavericks second title this year after having won the DCC Ladder League.

Wahab Khan and Junaid Hussain were right on the money for Mavericks after being sent in to bat by Pulse Secure.

Their 61 run opening wicket partnership gave Mavericks the impetus from which the other batsmen capitalised to give the team a fighting total. Junaid chipped in with 21 but Wahab and one down batsman Asad Badami looked in good touch.

Wahab blasted his way to 54 from 40 balls after striking a six and eight boundaries. Badami got to 39 from 36 balls from four fours.

But their wickets in quick succession and that of Jawad Ghani for nine runs brought Pulse Secure back in the match.

Alas, only temporarily as Syed Danish and Man of the Match Sajjad Malok took the match away from them with a 70 run partnership.

Danish struck 49 from 25 balls (3x6, 2x4) and Malok remained not out on 42 from 26 balls (1x6, 4x4).

Pulse Secure received a decent start in their chase from Faisal Amin (18) and Adnan Arif (21) but once they fell to Jawad Ghani and Sajjad Malok and Shahbaz Ali got rid of Danial Shakeel it was the turn of Umer Hussain (4-15) and Best bowler of the Tournament Ammar Badami (3-27) to clean up the rest.

This is the second year in succession that JK White has sponsored the Ramadan tournament.

Jasmeet Singh, who is the Marketing Manager in the UAE for JK White Cement (Fujairah) and Shiva Pagarani, of Dubai Cricket Council, were present and gave away the trophies.

Kai Smith of DCC Starlets won the best batsman award, Ammar Badami of Mavericks bagged the best bowler prize and the Player of the Tournament was handed to Vriitya Aravind of Dubai Mammoths.

All three players are from the Under-16 group which is an achievement for budding cricketers in the UAE.    

Brief scores (final): Mavericks beat TNS Pulse Secure by 80 runs

Mavericks 229 for 5 in 25 overs (Wahab Khan 54, Syed Danish 49, Sajjad Malok 42 n.o., Asad Badami 39, Junaid Hussain 21; Waseem Anwar 2-30) Pulse Secure 149 all out in 23.1 overs (Waseem Anwar 31, Usman Munir 23, Adnan Arif 21; Umer Hussain 4-15, Ammar Badami 3-27). Man of the Match: Sajjad Malok.

Other winners:

Best batsman: Kai Smith of DCC Starlets (6 games, 356 runs, 1 hundred and 2 x 50s)

Best bowler: Ammar Badami of Mavericks (6 games, 11 wickets, best 3-23).

Player of the Tournament: Vriitya Aravind of Dubai Mammoths (5 games, 286 runs, 4 x 50s, 4 catches, 4 stumping’s and 1 run out).


Related articles