Pakistan win toss, elect to bat first - GulfToday

Pakistan win toss, elect to bat first

South Africa Pakistan ODI Cricket

South Africa's Beuran Hendricks, centre, celebrates with teammates after dismissing Pakistan's batsman Fakhar Zaman for 2 runs during the second One Day International cricket match between South Africa and Pakistan at Centurion Park in Pretoria, South Africa. AFP

Centurion: Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat in the third one-day international against South Africa on Friday as Sarfraz Ahmed said Andile Phehlukwayo had accepted his apology for a controversial comment he made about his skin colour.

Sarfraz said in a tweet that he had apologised in person to the South African all-rounder for the aside that was picked up on the stump microphone during the second one-day match in Durban on Tuesday.

"He was gracious enough to accept my apology," tweeted Sarfraz.

South African captain Faf du Plessis said he would have bowled if he had won the toss. "At night it skids on a bit more," he said.

South Africa brought back first-choice players Quinton de Kock and Dale Steyn, who were rested for the first two matches.

They also gave a first one-day international cap to left-arm fast bowler Beuran Hendricks, who has played in seven Twenty20 internationals.

Pakistan made two changes with left-arm fast bowler Mohammad Amir and left-arm spinner Imad Wasim playing in place of Hussain Talat and Faheem Ashraf.




South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Tabraiz Shamsi, Beuran Hendricks


Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain, wkt), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi.


Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite (WIN), Adrian Holdstock (RSA)

TV umpire: Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)


Agence France-Presse


Related articles