Ushba Tesoro wins prestigious Dubai World Cup - GulfToday

Ushba Tesoro wins prestigious Dubai World Cup

Sheikh Hamdan presents the trophy to Yuga Kawada at Meydan racecourse in Dubai.

Gulf Today, Staff Reporter

His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, on Saturday attended the 27th Dubai World Cup at the Meydan Racecourse.

Sheikh Mohammed was accompanied by Sheikh Hamdan Bin Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai and Chairman of the Executive Council of Dubai, and Sheikh Maktoum Bin Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai, and Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of the UAE.

Speaking on the occasion, Sheikh Mohammed said that the success of the Dubai World Cup reflects the UAE’s determination to be a global role model for achievement and excellence in various fields.

“The UAE’s superior infrastructure and its emergence as a major venue for global tournaments and a magnet for leading international sporting figures have marked the city out as one of the world’s greatest sporting destinations,” Sheikh Mohammed said.

“We take great pride in the accomplishments and global stature of the Dubai World Cup, which signify the UAE’s leadership in the international equestrian sector. We extend a warm welcome to horse racing fans from around the world visiting the UAE to be part of this grand celebration of the sport that has deep roots in the heritage and culture of the Gulf region and the Arab world,” Sheikh Mohammed said.

Sheikh Hamdan crowned the winner of the main $12 million Group 1 race of the Dubai World Cup, sponsored by Emirates Airline. Japan’s Ushba Tesoro, owned by Ryotokuji Kenji Holdings Co Ltd, who emerged victorious in the race, was ridden by Yuga Kawada and trained by Noboru Takagi. The 2000 m dirt contest saw some of the world’s top performers go hoof to hoof against each other.

Sheikh Mohammed congratulated the jockey and the trainer of the horse on their achievement and wished them continued success in the horseracing arena.
A dazzling fireworks display and a drone show marked the end of the Dubai World Cup 2023.

Sheikh Mohammed followed the races of the 27th Dubai World Cup meeting, which brought together the best racehorses, trainers and jockeys from across the world and thousands of spectators. This year’s Dubai World Cup was held during the Holy Month of Ramadan for the first time in the event’s history.

One of the world’s biggest horse racing tournaments, the prestigious event offered a total prize money of $30.5 million.

The event’s nine race card featured 127 horses from 13 countries. Millions of racing enthusiasts worldwide tuned in to the broadcast of the planet’s most spectacular race day.

Hayyan humbles rivals in thrilling opening race

Hayyan, ridden by Oscar Chavez, in the silks of Sheikh Mansour Bin Zayed’s Yas Racing, dominated the opening race of the Dubai World Cup — Kahayla Classic.

Hayyan DWC-750x450

Trained by Emirati trainer Majed Al Jahoori, Hayyan won the race following a photo finish to beat Ray Dawson on Barakka and claim the $1 million prize money on offer.

Hayyan gave Jahoori the second victory in the Arabian showpiece at the Dubai World Cup meeting. In 2014, the Emirati landed the glory with Rabbah De Carrere with Olivier Peslier in the irons, for Yas Racing.

Isolate lands $1million Group 2 Godolphin Mile


Doug Watson-trained Isolate won the $1million Group 2 Godolphin Mile convincingly under Tyler Gaffalione.

Broome brushes aside rivals in $1million Group 2 Dubai Gold Cup


Delivering dominant performance, Ryan Moore produced a superb late run on Aidan O’Brien’s Broome to win the $1million Group 2 Dubai Gold Cup.

Danyah wins $1.5million Al Quoz Sprint


After Majed Al Jahoori, another Emirati trainer tasted success at the Dubai World Cup 2023. Dane O’Neill donning the Shadwell silks aboard Danyah won the $1.5million Al Quoz Sprint for UAE  trainer Musabah Al Muhairi.



The Astrologist, ridden by Damian Lane, and Godolphin’s Al Suhail with William Buick at the irons were second and third respectively.

Related articles