Rohit Sharma named new India T20 captain; Kohli to lead ODI, Test teams - GulfToday

Rohit Sharma named new India T20 captain; Kohli to lead ODI, Test teams


Virat Kohli (L) celebrates after the dismissal of Namibia's Stephan Baard, Rohit Sharma (R) celebrates after scoring 50 in Dubai. AFP / AP

Gulf Today Report

Rohit Sharma has been named the new captain of India's T20 side, replacing Virat Kohli, the cricket board said on Tuesday after the side were dumped out of the World Cup.

The Board of Cricket Control of India (BCCI) tweeted that the 34-year-old opening batsman was "named the T20I Captain for India" as it announced the squad for an upcoming tour by New Zealand.

The Chetan Sharma-led National Selection Committee appointed Rohit as the captain of the squad while KL Rahul is the designated vice-captain.

Kohli, who took over T20I captaincy in 2017, had announced his decision to step down in September, citing his "immense workload." He remains the skipper of the One-Day and Test teams.

Screen Shot 20211109 at 93211 PM

Many multi-format regulars including Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Ravindra Jadeja have been given a break after the T20 World Cup, which followed the completion of the Indian Premier League 2021.

Hardik Pandya, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, and Rahul Chahar, who were part of the 15-member T20 World Cup squad, have not been picked.


Out-going Shastri blames bio-bubble fatigue for World Cup debacle

Cricket legend Kapil Dev says India players put IPL before country

Babar, Malik lead Pakistan into T20 World Cup semi against Australia in Sharjah

England look to repeat history as NZ bid to add new chapter with win in World T20 semi

The announcement follows news that former batting legend Rahul Dravid was replacing Ravi Shastri as coach for all formats following the World Cup, where India failed to qualify for the semi-finals.

The right-handed Sharma, known for his hard hitting, made his debut in 2007 for the national team, initially playing limited overs cricket before being included in the Test team in 2013.

Sharma-Rahul Rohit Sharma (L) and KL Rahul run between the wickets in Dubai. AFP

Sharma also captained the Mumbai Indians to victory in the Indian Premier League (IPL) five times. Royal Challengers Bangalore, led by Kohli, have never won the title.

Screen Shot 20211109 at 93219 PM

Kohli was also not named in the T20 squad for the New Zealand tour to give the batsman time to rest. Also left out were pace bowlers Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah as well as bowling all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja.

The tour by New Zealand begins on Nov.17 with the first of three T20 games followed by two Test matches. Sharma has played 116 T20 international matches, scoring 3029 runs and averages over 32. He has amassed 9205 runs in 227 ODI's and 3047 from 43 Test matches at an average of nearly 47.

India faced sharp criticism at home over their dismal performance in the T20 World Cup, including their humiliating defeat at the hands of arch-rival Pakistan as well as New Zealand.

Bumra-Jadeja Jasprit Bumrah (R) and Ravindra Jadeja smile during the T20 World Cup match in Dubai. AFP

But Shastri said after his last game in charge after five years that the current team was "one of the great cricket teams in the history of the game."

"We might not have won this World Cup, but I think going forward we'll continue to have a strong team because the IPL throws a lot of young players into the mix. Rahul (Dravid) will have his own ideas on how to take this team forward," Shastri said.

"I think in Rohit you've got a very capable guy. He's won so many IPLs. He's the vice-captain of this side. He's waiting in the wings to take that job," Shastri added.

Screen Shot 20211109 at 93511 PM

Kohli tweeted on Monday: "Together as one we set out to achieve our goal. Unfortunately, we fell short and no one is more disappointed than us as a side."

"The support from all of you has been fantastic and we are grateful for it all. We will aim to come back stronger and put our best foot forward."

Related articles