Majestic Fakhar Zaman leads Pakistan to ODI series win against South Africa - GulfToday

Majestic Fakhar Zaman leads Pakistan to ODI series win against South Africa

Pakistan players pose for a photograph after winning the series at SuperSport Park in Centurion on Wednesday. AFP

Opener Fakhar Zaman hit a second successive century to help Pakistan win the deciding One-Day International (ODI) against South Africa by 28 runs and take the series 2-1 on Wednesday.

Fakhar made 101 and captain Babar Azam 94 from 82 balls to propel Pakistan to 320-7 batting first at SuperSport Park.

South Africa was 292 all out as three players made half-centuries but none converted them to big scores.


Pakistan's Fakhar controversial run out during 2nd ODI

Fakhar Zaman 193 in vain as South Africa beat Pakistan by 17 runs

Power in their bank Punjab Kings eye play-offs; KKR turn to mental strength

Sheikh Abdulaziz shines at Emirates Jet Ski Marathon

Left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz and fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi collected three wickets each, with Afridi ending things by clean bowling Keshav Maharaj and last man Daryn Dupavillon.
It's the first time Pakistan has won an ODI series in South Africa since 2013.

Fakhar Zaman celebrates after scoring a century during the third ODI in Centurion. AFP

South Africa did have to change more than half its team following a series-leveling win in the second game after five players left for the Indian Premier League (IPL) and batsman Rassie van der Dussen was ruled out injured. But Pakistan was still clearly better over the course of the three games.

Fakhar was again the most impressive after a magnificent 193 in a losing cause in the second one-dayer.

He made 101 from 104 balls this time and shared a 112-run opening stand with Imam-ul-Haq (57). Babar's classy 94 continued Pakistan's top-order flourish and the tourists were 206-1 at one point and set for a big total.

Maharaj, one of seven changes in the South African team, took three for 45 in his 10 overs.

RSA-PAK-main1-750Babar Azam (L) and Mohammad Nawaz run between the wickets at SuperSport Park in Centurion on Wednesday. AFP

Hasan Ali hammered it home with 32 not out from 11 balls right at the end, which included four sixes.

Opener Janneman Malan's 70 threatened to give South Africa a chance, as did a 108-run stand in the middle order between Kyle Verreynne (62) and Andile Phehlukwayo (54).

Pakistan removed those two in successive overs and Afridi cleaned up.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (capt), Aiden Markram, Janneman Malan, Jon-Jon Smuts, Kyle Verreynne, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Darryn Dupavillon, Beuran Hendricks, Lutho Sipamla.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfraz Ahmed (wkt), Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf.

Umpires: Marais Erasmus, Bongani Jele (both RSA)

TV umpire: Adrian Holdstock (RSA)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)


Related articles