Local ranking events beneficial to the UAE players, says Marzouqi - GulfToday

Local ranking events beneficial to the UAE players, says Marzouqi


Winners pose with Nasser Al Marzouqi, Noura Badawi and other dignitaries during the presentation ceremony.

Gulf Today, Staff Reporter
The Al Habtoor Tennis Academy, in cooperation with the UAE Tennis Federation, organized Al Habtoor Championships accompanying local ranking events, with the participation of 240 players, including 15 national players and the tournament was held in accordance with the COVID-19 precautionary measures.

For its part, the UAE Tennis Federation praised the efforts made by the Al Habtoor International Group in supporting the sport of tennis locally and internationally and for the championships and activities that fall within the federation's annual agenda and contribute to a distinctive qualitative leap.

Nasser Al Marzouqi, general secretary of the UAE Tennis Federation, said: “We are happy to continue the technical gains achieved by the tournaments accompanying the international tournaments held in the country, which have proven to be technically beneficial to the UAE players.

“Federation is ready to provide all kinds of support available for such tournaments to enjoy success as it helps the national team players to raise their technical levels, in addition to being a necessary sport and recreational event for tennis practitioners.

Noura Badawi, tournament director and chief communications officer of the Al Habtoor International Group,  thanked the UAE Tennis Federation for their continuous  support and cooperation that successfully contributed to the success Al Habtoor International and accompanying championships.

Ahmed Ahli honored the winners. In the girls ’category, Eva Lukyanova won the U-12 title, Rokaya Kashkoush dominated U-14, Diya Tamse took top honours in U-16, and Lia Mosimann bagged U-18, Tudor Zecheru dominated U-12, Sumer Mehta clinched U-14, Anthony Moukarzel took top spot in U-16 and Ethan Milgan performed well in U-18.

Lia Mosimann won the women's category, while Simon Robert dominated the men's category and while Oleg Oleg Geraskin bagged honours in the men's category over (35).

Related articles