Young drivers brace for high-octane action at F3 Asian Championship in UAE - GulfToday

Young drivers brace for high-octane action at F3 Asian Championship in UAE


Picture used for illustrative purpose only.

Gulf Today, Staff Reporter


Nothing can stop Giti tyre and the F3 Asian Championship certified by FIA series from bringing forward its action-packed racing in 2021. And this year, the excitement will be viewable by fans around the world live by web-stream.


Due to travel restrictions and other precautions, the F3 Asia series will take place fully in the UAE - with stops at both the famous Dubai Autodrome and Abu Dhabi Yas Marina circuits.


Giti tyre as the exclusive tyre provider and brand for the fifth consecutive year, is dedicated to supporting the growth of the future racing leaders in the series.


The races will take place between Jan.29 and Feb. 20, 2021, with five full rounds to determine the champion of this year’s series.


The opening round will be preceded by a pre-season test on Jan.27, and teams arriving from specified countries have been advised to enter Dubai 10 days prior the second round at Abu Dhabi’s Yas Marina Circuit on Feb.5-6, in order to comply with the city’s entry requirements. The championship returns to Dubai for Rounds 3 and 4, before the season finale at Yas Marina on Feb.19-20.


Reigning champions BlackArts Racing, who won the 2020 driver and team titles with Dutchman Joey Alders, will enter three cars, while two-time team champions Hitech Grand Prix also enters three cars plus a further two under Hitech Asia. Pinnacle Motorsport, which ran championship runner-up Jack Doohan and Pietro Fittipaldi last season, returns with a three-car entry. Championship regular Absolute Racing is also back, this time with two cars after a successful season with Jamie Chadwick in 2020.


Abu Dhabi Racing made its championship debut at the Yas Marina Circuit last year when Khaled Al Qubaisi took all three Masters category wins.


The team returns this year for a full season with a three-car entry as Abu Dhabi Racing by Prema, marking the series debut of reigning FIA F2, FIA F3, Formula Regional European and Italian F4 champions Prema Powerteam.

Related articles