AM Polo team win AHPRC League trophy - GulfToday

AM Polo team win AHPRC League trophy


AM Polo team members celebrate with the trophy.

Gulf Today, Staff Reporter

Dubai: AM Polo took top honours in the AHPRC League after winning the pulsating final at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club.

AM Polo and Ankora/Bangash Polo teams clashed in an exciting final match of the league. AM Polo opened the scoring through a fine goal from Santos Iriarte. They showed dominance as they kept the lead throughout the game. Ankora/Bangash team was able to close the gap in scores between the chukkers but, ultimately AM Polo team closed the game at 8 goals to 6.


Coronado nets double as Sharjah edge Al Nasr to maintain perfect start

Unprecedented step Sheikh Zayed Road turns into cycling track

Earlier, in the morning there were round-robin games where Green Gates emerged victorious securing the 5th place in the league by beating both Dubai Wolves and Hesketh Polo teams.

The action continued with the Subsidiary Final between Dr. A Polo and Mahra Polo team. The match kicked off with a quick goal from Rashid Al Habtoor, patron of Mahra Polo and the team ended the chukker with a 3 goal advantage.

Dr A Polo created a tie at 4 goals by the end of the second chukker, and the game took an exciting turn that called for a fifth chukker. With 7 goals each, both teams raced to score the winning goal and it was Tomy Iriarte that sealed the win for Dr. A Polo team at 8 goals to 7.

Khalid Saeed, General Manager of Al Habtoor Polo Resort, gave away the prizes. Iriarte was adjudged as the Most Valuable Player while Erenita Lenon (ridden by Frederico Potobsky) as the Best Playing Pony.

Related articles