President of UAE Polo Cup off to perfect start at Ghantoot Club - GulfToday

President of UAE Polo Cup off to perfect start at Ghantoot Club


Players of Ghantoot Polo and Bangash Polo in action during their match at the Ghantoot Racing and Polo Club.

Ghantoot Polo team beat Bangash 9-8 while Al Habtoor edged past UAE Polo team as the 20th edition of the HH President of UAE Polo Cup got off to a perfect start at the Ghantoot Racing and Polo Club on Wednesday.

In another match, Abu Dhabi registered an easy win over Desert Palm 14-13.

The 2019 edition of the HH President of the UAE Cup was won by Desert Palm, who defeated the UAE Polo Team 10-8 in a thrilling final.

Held in the name of The President His Highness Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan and under the patronage of Sheikh Falah Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the two-week long event has attracted some of the leading polo players in the UAE and from around the world.

Six teams are in fray at the prestigious 18-handicap tournament, which offers a lucrative prize purse of Dhs 500,000.

The format for the event is a round-robin league with the two top teams qualifying for the Grand Final. The competing teams include hosts Ghantoot, UAE, Abu Dhabi, Desert Palm, Al Habtoor and Bangash.

The governing partner for the HH President of the UAE Cup is Abu Dhabi Sports Council and it’s being held in association with the Emirates Polo Association.

Event Sponsors include YAS Capital Investments, YAS International Properties LLC, YAS International Development, YAS International Holding, YAS International Investment and La Roche Pharmacy.

Results of the opening day

Abu Dhabi 8 Desert Palm 3

Abu Dhabi: Faris Al Yabhouni 0 (1 goal), Cesar Crespo 4 (1), Alfredo Cappella 9 (2), Martín Donovan 5 (4). Total: 18.

Desert Plam: Yousef Bin Desmal 0, Ramiro Cordero 5 (1 goal), Martín Valent 5 (1), Manuel Toccalino 6. Total: 16.

Score Abu Dhabi: 1-0, 3-1, 7-1, 7-2, 8-3.

Al Habtoor 14 UAE Polo 13

Al Habtoor: Mohammed Al Habtoor 0 (1 goal), Félix Esaín 2 (1), Mín Podestá 7 (1), Facundo Sola 9 (11). Total: 18.

UAE Polo: Sheikha Maitha 0, Benjamin Panelo 4 (1 goal), Tomás Panelo 6 (4), Tommy Beresford 6 (8). Total: 16.

Score Habtoor: 3-4, 7-5, 9-8, 12-11, 14-13.

Ghantoot 9 Bangash 8

Ghantoot: Nasser Al Shamsi 1, Marcos Panelo 4, Pablo Llorente 6, Cacu Araya 7. Total: 18.

Bangash: Heider Bangash 0, Federico Von Potobsky 5, Manuel Elizalde 6, Juanchi Ambroggio 6. Total: 17.

Score Ghantoot: 1-1, 2-6, 3-6, 5-7, 9-8

Related articles