India outplay Australia to clinch series with win in third ODI - GulfToday

India outplay Australia to clinch series with win in third ODI


The Indian cricket team pose with the trophy after their win in the third one-day against Australia in Bangalore, India, on Sunday. Associated Press

Rohit Sharma smashed a blitzkrieg century as India defeated Australia by seven wicket in the third one-day international to claim the series 2-1 on Sunday.

Sharma scored 119 and put up a 137-run stand with skipper Virat Kohli (89) as India went over the line for the loss of just three wickets with 15 balls to spare. The hosts put up a clinical performance after being drubbed by ten wickets in the series opener.

Pacer Mohammed Shami spearheaded the bowling charge with a four-wicket haul as the hosts restricted Australia to 286 for nine on a good batting pitch despite Steve Smith’s gritty 131.

Sharma took the attack to the opposition with a steady flow of boundaries -- eight fours and six sixes in his 128-ball knock -- and completed his eighth century against the Aussies.

He finally fell to Adam Zampa’s leg spin as the senior batsman attempted a big hit but the ball top-edged off his bat to be caught by Mitchell Starc at long-on. Kohli kept the chase on track with an attacking Shreyas Iyer, unbeaten on 44, as the pair put on 68 runs before the captain was bowled by Josh Hazlewood.

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan did not bat after injuring his shoulder while fielding in the fifth over Australian innings. He went for an X-ray later and TV pictures showed the batsman’s arm in a sling.

India though did not feel his absence as Sharma and wicketkeeper-batsman KL Rahul put on 69 runs to set up the chase. Rahul was given not out by the on-field umpire after being trapped lbw off Ashton Agar for 19 but Australia successfully reviewed the decision in their favour.

Earlier Smith followed up his 98 in the second match with his ninth ODI hundred and his first since January 2017 -- a period during which he served a one-year ban between March 2018 and 2019.

Smith put on 127 runs for the third wicket with Marnus Labuschagne to lay the foundation for Australia’s total after they elected to bat.

Shami struck first to send David Warner trudging back to the pavilion for three after the left-handed opener edged to wicketkeeper KL Rahul.

Finch and Smith started to build, but their partnership was cut short by a big mix up between the two batsmen with the captain being run out for 19.

Smith played the ball to short third man and Finch ran for a single only to get stuck with his partner at the striker’s end, and fell well short of the crease while trying to make it back.

Smith kept the scoreboard ticking with singles and twos and the occasional boundary with partner Labuschagne, who got a maiden ODI fifty after making his debut in the opening match of the series.

Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja broke the partnership with the wicket of Labuschagne for 54, and struck twice in his ninth over to pull Australia back. Smith played a lone hand before falling to Shami as the middle and lower order did not fire.




D Warner c Rahul b Shami    3

A Finch run out (Jadeja//Iyer/Shami)    19

S Smith c Iyer b Shami    131

M Labuschagne c Kohli b Jadeja    54

M Starc c (sub) Chahal b Jadeja    0

A Carey c Iyer b Yadav    35

A Turner c Rahul b Saini    4

A Agar not out    11

P Cummins b Shami    0

A Zampa b Shami    1

J Hazlewood not out    1

Extras (lb 14, w 13)    27

Total (9 wickets, 50 overs)    286

Bowling: Bumrah 10-0-38-0 (w8), Shami 10-0-63-4 (w4), Saini 10-0-65-1, Yadav 10-0-62-1 (w1), Jadeja 10-1-44-2

India (target 287)

R Sharma c Starc b Zampa119

KL Rahul lbw b Agar 19

V Kohli b Hazlewood    89

S Iyer not out    44

M Pandey not out    8

Extras (lb2, w8)    10

Total (3 wickets, 47.3 overs)    289

Bowling: Cummins 7-0-64-0 (w5), Starc 9-0-66-0 (w2), Hazlewood 9.3-1-55-1 (w1), Agar 10-0-38-1, Zampa 10-0-44-1, Labuschagne 1-0-11-0, Finch 1-0-9-0

Related articles

Other Articles

Zimbabwe trounce Afghanistan to win AD Test

A century from skipper Sean Williams coupled with destructive pace bowling from Blessing Muzarabani and Victor Nyauchi led Zimbabwe to a rapid 10-wicket win over Afghanistan in the first Test in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday. Williams hit 105 to guide

That left Zimbabwe to score 17 runs which they got without any loss to end the match inside two days.

Afghanistan were bowled out for 131 in their first innings.

Lanky pacer Muzarabani finished with 2-14 -- six wickets in the match -- while his new ball partner Nyauchi took 3-30, also getting six in the match.

Afghanistan were facing an innings defeat at 81-7 but opener Ibrahim Zadran fought hard during his 76 -- his second half century -- and added 48 for the eighth wicket with Amir Hamza who remained 21 not out.

Zadran batted for three hours and hit ten boundaries.

This becomes Afghanistan’s third defeat in five Tests since gaining status to play the five-day format in 2017.

The writing was very much on the wall when Nyauchi had Abdul Malik in the second over for a duck for batsman’s pair on debut.

Nyauchi then had Rahmat Shah (zero) and Hashmatullah Shahidi (four) while Muzarabani had Munir Ahmad (one) and rival skipper Asghar Afghan (14) to leave Zimbabwe rocking at 47-6.

Nyuaci’s previous best of 3-69 was on his debut against Sri Lanka at Harare last year.

Earlier, resuming at 133-5, Zimbabwe added 117 more runs to gain crucial lead.

Williams, who resumed on 54 lost his overnight partner Ryan Burl for eight but then found an able partner in Regis Chakabva (44) as the duo added 75 for the seventh wicket.

Williams completed his third Test century, and second in successive Tests, soon after lunch with a single to square leg.

But he fell while flicking spinner Amir Hamza straight to mid-wicket.

Williams had 10 boundaries while Chakabva smashed a six and six boundaries.

Left-arm spinner Hamza finished with career-best figures of 6-75 -- his second five-for in Tests after his 5-74 against West Indies at Lucknow in 2019. The second Test starts on March 10, also in Abu Dhabi.


Afghanistan first innings 131

Zimbabwe 1st innings (overnight 133-5)

S Williams c Hashmatullah b Hamza 105

R Burl lbw b Zadran 8

R Chakabva c Malik b Zahir 44

D Tiripano c Zadran b Zahir 4

B Muzarabani not out 12

V Nyauchi b Hamza 0

Total: (overs 72; all out) 250

Bowling: Ahmadzai 17.1-2-48-1 (1w), Hamza 25-3-75-6, Zahir 19-0-81-2, Wasi 8.5-0-23-0 (1nb), Zadran 2-0-13-1,

Afghanistan 2nd innings

I Zadran c Chakabva b Tiripano 76

A Malik c Chakabva b Nyauchi 0

M Ahmad lbw b Muzarabani 1

R Shah lbw b Nyauchi 0

H Shahidi c Madhevere b Nyauchi 4

A Afghan b Muzarabani 14

A Wasi b Burl 9

A Hamza not out 21

Y Ahmadzai c Williams b Tiripano 0

Z Khan c Nyauchi b Tiripano 0

Total: (overs 45.3; all out) 135

Bowling: Muzarabani 8-4-14-2, Nyauchi 7-1-30-3 (5w), Williams 6-0-28-1, Tripinao 9.3-2-23-3, Burl 7-0-13-1, Raza 4-0-16-0, Madhevere 4-1-6-0

Zimbabwe 2nd innings

P Masvaure not out 5

K Kasuza not out 11

TOTAL (overs 3.2, for no loss) 17

Bowling: Hamza 2-0-11-0, Ahmadzai 1.2-0-5-0

Result: Zimbabwe win by ten wickets

5 hours ago