Karwan Strikers beat ANIB XI in BS Champions Trophy opener - GulfToday

Karwan Strikers beat ANIB XI in BS Champions Trophy opener


Karwan Strikers CC players pose for a picture prior to the start of their match against ANIB XI.

Karwan Strikers CC defeated ANIB XI on Top CC by five wickets in an opening match of the BS Champions Trophy season II match held at the Eden Gardens Ajman.

ANIB XI won the toss and elected to bat first. They lost two quick wickets with just nine runs on the board. Both the batsmen including Mohammed Afzal and ANIB XI skipper Basil Hameed were removed by Atif Ayoub.

Later, wicket-keeper Mani Danube (20) and Anfal PM (12) also returned to the pavilion while leaving ANIB XI struggling at 39 for four.

Laxman Sreekumar (52) and Rameez Abdul Kareem (35) shared an 80-run stand and revived their innings.

Sreekumar hit 52 off 33 studded with three boundaries and a towering six while Kareem scored 35 off 29 balls.

Zahid took the wickets Sreekumar and provided Karwan Strikers the needed breakthrough.

Asif Hayat added 13 before being getting run out as ANIB XI posted 151 for the loss of nine wickets from the allotted 20 overs. Ayoub, Zahid and Farhan claimed two wickets each.

In reply, Karwan Strikers were also in a spot of bother after losing their opener Furqaan at 19. Despite losing his partner, Taimoor Ali played a patient knock of 31.

Later, Jahandad Khan (65) and Amjad Gul (25) ensured the team remains on the track for victory. Usman Mushtaq and Sultan Ahmed added eighth runs each as Karwan Stikers overhauled the winning target with two overs to spare. Khan was adjudged as man of the match.

The tournament is being played under the auspices of Ajman Cricket Council.

Gaurav Uppal, founder of BS League, said: “We continue our work alongside Ajman Cricket Council to offer the opportunity to play competitive tournaments.

“I myself am a passionate cricketer, so I’m committed to providing quality cricket tournaments on turf wicket and grass ground in the UAE.”

Six teams including Karwan Strikers, ANIB XI, Bukhatir XI, MBM Gulf, Chemietech CC and Phoenix Medicine are taking part in the tournament. Pak International Energy is the gold sponsor of BS Champions Trophy season II.


Related articles