Final six for maiden ATP Cup unveiled; Bryans to quit in 2020 - GulfToday

Final six for maiden ATP Cup unveiled; Bryans to quit in 2020

Final six for maiden ATP Cup unveiled; Bryans to quit in ,20

The 41-year-old Bryan twins Bob and Mike said in a statement on Wednesday that they planned to quit after taking part in next year’s US Open. Agence France-Presse

Bulgaria, Chile, Poland, Uruguay, Moldova and Norway were the final six teams announced on Thursday for the ATP Cup in Australia -- the new world tennis team event.

The final six selection was based on the ranking of their number one singles player at the second entry deadline of Nov.13.

The rest of the 24-nation field was announced in September, although Switzerland later pulled out after Roger Federer opted to skip the tournament.

The field will be split into six groups across Sydney, Brisbane and Perth. As the highest-qualifying country at the second deadline, Bulgaria replace the Swiss and join Belgium and the Andy Murray-led Great Britain in Group C in Sydney.

The championship takes place from Jan.3-12 in the lead-up to the year’s first Grand Slam, the Australian Open in Melbourne.

World number one Novak Djokovic will begin his 2020 season representing Serbia with Dusan Lajovic in Brisbane, against France, South Africa and Chile.

Spain’s Rafael Nadal will kick off his campaign in Perth alongside Roberto Bautista Agut facing Japan, Georgia and Uruguay.

Eight teams -- with up to five players each -- will emerge from the round-robin stage to compete in the knockout phase in Sydney until one is left standing with ties comprising two singles and one doubles match. Most of the world’s top 30, minus Federer, are taking part.

The new-look start to the year offers Aus$22 million ($15 million) in prize money and a maximum of 750 singles and 250 doubles ATP rankings points.

ATP Cup draw: Group A (Brisbane): Serbia, France, South Africa, Chile; Group B (Perth): Spain, Japan, Georgia, Uruguay; Group C (Sydney): Bulgaria, Belgium, Great Britain, Moldova; Group D (Perth): Russia, Italy, USA, Norway; Group E (Sydney): Austria, Croatia, Argentina, Poland; Group F (Brisbane): Germany, Greece, Canada, Australia

Meanwhile, US men’s doubles duo Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan said on Wednesday they will retire at the end of the 2020 season, bringing the curtain down on one of the most successful pairings in tennis history.

The 41-year-old twins said in a statement they planned to hang up their racquets after taking part in next year’s US Open, where they made their Grand Slam championship debut in 1995.

Since that first Slam appearance, the Bryans have racked up a record 118 trophies including 16 Grand Slam doubles titles. They also won Olympic gold at the 2012 London Games.

Agence France-Presse

Related articles