Sri Lanka set 148-run target for Pakistan in final T20 - GulfToday

Sri Lanka set 148-run target for Pakistan in final T20

Sarfraz Ahmed makes a successful run out appeal against Angelo Perera during the final T20 match at the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium in Lahore on Wednesday. AFP

Sri Lanka, aiming to register their first-ever whitewash in the shortest format, compiled a challenging 147-7 against Pakistan in the third and final Twenty20 international in Lahore on Wednesday.

Debutant Oshada Fernando struck a brilliant 48-ball 78 with three sixes and eight boundaries. For Pakistan paceman Mohammad Amir took 3-27.

Pakistan's President Arif Alvi puts a pink ribbon on the T-shirt of Sri Lanka's captain Dasun Shanaka ahead of the beginning of the final match. AFP

Sri Lanka successfully defended totals in the first two games and is chasing its first-ever 3-0 victory in a three-match bilateral series.
With the series already won, Sri Lanka made five changes from the team, which beat Pakistan by 35 runs on Monday.

Lahiru Madushanka, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Perera, Lahiru Kumara and wicketkeeper-batsman Sadeera Samarawickrama all got their first match in the series. The visitors left out experienced seamers Isuru Udana and Nuwan Pradeep along with batsmen Shehan Jayasuriya, Avishka Fernando and Minod Bhanuka.

Pakistan dropped out-of-form Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad after both batsmen failed to make a mark in the first two matches.

President Arif Alvi and Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Ehsan Mani (L) pose for a photograph along with Sarfraz Ahmed and Dasun Shanaka. AFP

Middle-order batsman Haris Sohail replaced Akmal, while Iftikhar Ahmed came in place of Shehzad. Left-arm fast bowler Usman Shinwari replaced Mohammad Hasnain as Pakistan made three changes.

Players and match officials will be wearing pink ribbons to promote awareness about breast cancer.


Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Madushanka, Lakshan Sandakan, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha.

Pakistan: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Usman Shinwari.