BS Thunder beat Pitchers; Ronins Challengers rout Thunder Strikers - GulfToday

BS Thunder beat Pitchers; Ronins Challengers rout Thunder Strikers

BS Thunder beat Pitchers; Ronins Challengers rout Thunder Strikers

From left: BS Thunder CC skipper Sukhjinder Singh along with his Pitchers CC counterpart Shiv and umpire poses for a picture ahead of the start of the match.

AJMAN: BS Thunder CC defeated Pitchers CC by 20 runs in a BS League season 8 match being played at the MCC Grounds in Ajman.

BS Thunder won the toss and elected to bat first. Their idea proved fatal as they lost three wickets with just five runs on the board.

Buta Singh Gehri returned to the pavilion without opening the account while Vijay and Sapandeep scored five runs each before being removed by Shahez Ahmed. Shawn and BS Thunder skipper Sukhjinder Singh revived their innings. Shawn slammed 46 off 45 balls studded with one six and five boundaries. Singh hit 14 off 11 balls. After their departure BS Thunder were in spot of bother as they lost four wickets in quick succession.  

Later, Vinayak (22) and Arjun (7) helped BS Thunder post 138 for the loss of nine wickets from the allotted 20 overs. Ahmed was the most successful bowler for Pitchers CC as he took four wickets while giving away just 16 runs. Deven Uchil claimed two.

In reply, Pitchers CC were off to flying start with their openers Kamran and Faiz Beg sharing a 33-run stand. Vinayak provided the breakthrough when the partnership between Kamran and Beg was looking dangerous.

He removed Kamram and later Shri clean bowled beg. Kamran scored 11 and Beg added 22.

Maddy (24) and Taha Ahmed Khan (15) eased the pressure and put Picthers CC on track for victory. Maddy got run out and Khan lost the wicket after giving easy catch to Singh on the bowling of Shri. Abdullah (19) was the only batsman who offered some resistance as Pitchers CC were all out for 118.

Vinayak of BS Thunder was named as man of the match.

In another match, Ronins Challengers thrashed Thunder Strikers by 69 runs. Batting first, Ronins Challengers posted 182 for the loss of seven wickets and later bowled out Thunder Strikers for 113. Kapil Dhatwalia (27), Sukhi (47) and Kevin Gifford were their top scorers.

Related articles