Video: Everton, Jesus and Richarlison score as Brazil beat Peru 3-1 in Copa America final - GulfToday

Video: Everton, Jesus and Richarlison score as Brazil beat Peru 3-1 in Copa America final


Brazilian players celebrate with the trophy after winning the Copa America title. AFP

Hosts Brazil beat Peru 3-1 to win the Copa America at the at Rio de Janeiro's Maracana stadium on Sunday.

Brazil's Gabriel Jesus made one goal, scored another and was sent off in the second half as they beat Peru 3-1 on Sunday to win the Copa America for the ninth time in a pulsating contest at the Maracana stadium.

The hosts took the lead against the run of play after 15 minutes when Gabriel Jesus bamboozled two defenders on the right flank and crossed for the unmarked Everton to fire home from close range.

Brazil-Jesus-750Brazil's Gabriel Jesus celebrates after scoring a goal. Reuters

Brazilian fans took to the streets of Rio de Janeiro to celebrate the victory over Peru.

Peru equalised a minute before halftime when Paolo Guerrero scored from the penalty spot after Thiago Silva was adjudged to have handled the ball, but Gabriel Jesus restored their lead just moments later to put the home side 2-1 up at the break.

A last minute penalty from substitute Richarlison sealed a win for Brazil which handed the South American giants their ninth Copa triumph and first since 2007.

Peru-PlayersPlayers of Peru acknowledge the crowd at Maracana Stadium. AFP

Coaches, Brazil’s Tite and Peru counterpart Ricardo Gareca made no changes to their teams for the final.

Both aligned the exact same starting XI line-ups that played in the semi-finals earlier in the week.

Everton, Roberto Firmino and Gabriel Jesus were up front for hosts Brazil, while Peru's veteran captain Palo Guerrero led the line the side.

Brazil won their ninth Copa title and first major trophy in 12 years. Peru last triumphed in 1975.

Brazil beat arch-rivals Argentina 2-0 in the semi-finals while Peru shocked the outgoing champions Chile 3-0.

Brazil (4-3-3):

Alisson; Dani Alves (capt), Thiago Silva, Marquinhos, Alex Sandro; Casimiro, Arthur, Philippe Coutinho; Everton, Roberto Firmino, Gabriel Jesus.

Coach: Tite


Pedro Gallese; Luis Advincula, Carlos Zambrano, Luis Abram, Miguel Trauco; Renato Tapia, Yoshimar Yotun, Christian Cueva; Edison Flores, Paolo Guerrero (capt), Andre Carrillo.

Coach: Ricardo Gareca (ARG)

Referee: Roberto Tobar (CHI)


Related articles