ECB announces team for Zimbabwe ODIs - GulfToday

ECB announces team for Zimbabwe ODIs


Mohammad Naveed will lead the UAE squad against Zimbabwe during the ODI series which will start today.

Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) on Monday confirmed the team that will represent the UAE in the upcoming four-match ODI bilateral series against Zimbabwe.

Having started their 2018-2019 season with a historic and exciting T20i against full Test Nation, Australia (in October of last year), the UAE Cricket will reach another milestone in their history playing their first-ever bilateral ODI series against another full Test Nation, Zimbabwe, commencing on Wednesday April 10.  

They will take on a Chairman’s XI in a warm-up game, before playing four ODIs against Zimbabwe.

“We have a very strong relationship with Zimbabwe Cricket having established a reciprocal playing agreement in 2017 which commenced with our National side playing Zimbabwe A in a five-match series during their tour of the UAE. Further to this agreement, and with thanks to the positive and supportive discussions with Zimbabwe Cricket, we are thrilled that our National side will now be playing their first ODI series against a full Test Nation.” Waleed Bukhatir, Emirates Cricket Board Member and Chief Selector said.  

 “This series is a testament to the quality of not only UAE’s National side, but to the growing levels and abilities of Associate Cricket.

“Such achievements can only happen by nurturing relationships with various Full Member boards, and through Emirates Cricket Board’s vision and leadership we are very pleased to maintain and strengthen these relationships and see these milestones reached, we are very grateful to all involved,” added Bukhatir.

Mohammad Naveed will once again captain the squad which also features old stagers Rohan Mustafa, Shaiman Anwar, and Imran Haider.

The four-match ODI series will be played Wednesday April 10, Friday April 12, Sunday April 14 and Tuesday April 16. All games will be played at the Harare Sports Club in Harare, Zimbabwe.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe will be without two of their most experienced players in regular captain Hamilton Masakadza and wicket-keeper Brendan Taylor, who have both been ruled out.

The former sustained a thumb injury while playing domestic cricket in February, while the latter hurt his hamstring playing in the Pakistan Super League. Vice-captain Peter Moor will lead the side in Masakadza’s absence.

Both are close to a return, having taken part in a training camp that preceded the series, but have not recovered in time to take part. Elsewhere, two uncapped players have been included: Ainsley Ndlovu, a 23-year-old left-arm spinner, and Tony Munyonga, a 20-year-old off-spinning all-rounder.

Timycen Naruma and Regis Chakabva have each been recalled after lengthy absences from the ODI set-up. The former is a batsman and part-time leg-spinner, who last represented his country in 2016, and has shot back to prominence in Zimbabwe domestic cricket. He finished fifth in the run-scorers charts in the Pro50 Championship, and top in charts for the first-class Logan Cup.

Related articles