Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar CM, goes to Rabri Devi's house to meet Tejashwi - GulfToday

Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar CM, goes to Rabri Devi's house to meet Tejashwi


Nitish Kumar gestures to the media. File.

Gulf Today Report

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar submitted his resignation to the state governor on August 9, as his Janata Dal (United) has decided to sever ties with the ruling alliance partner, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

"I have resigned as the CM. All MPs and MLAs of the JD(U) are at a consensus that we should leave the NDA," Kumar told reporters outside the Raj Bhawan.

"I was the chief minister of Bihar. Now, I have given my resignation from the post of Chief Minister," he said.

Asked about the dispute between him and BJP, he left the question unanswered.

Nitish Kumar headed for the residence of RJD leader Rabri Devi to meet party leader Tejashwi Yadav and other leaders of the Mahagathbandhan to discuss the future course of action.

He was accompanied by JD-U national President Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh.

"We have had discussions with every MLA, MLCs and MP of the party before I resigned from the post of Chief Minister of Bihar. Our party JD-U has also come out from the National Democratic Alliance (NDA)," he said.

Earlier, addressing a meeting of lawmakers of his Janata Dal-United, Nitish Kumar, sources said, levelled allegations against the BJP, saying it was conspiring against him and trying to influence JD-U MLAs to rebel against him.

Sources said that Nitish Kumar accused the BJP of "horse trading" and giving some party leaders lucrative offers to make them ministers. He said that he has proof of this.

Meanwhile, JD-U MLAs have been asked to stay inside CM's residence.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal also asked MLAs of Mahagathbandhan to stay in senior leader and former Chief Minister Rabri Devi's residence at 10 Circular Road until the decision of the Governor comes.

It is learnt that Nitish Kumar is expecting the Governor to invite him to form the government again, as he has submitted signatures of his party's MLAs, as well as those of the Mahagathbandhan before Bihar governor.

Related articles