UAE extends suspension of flights from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal till July 7 - GulfToday

UAE extends suspension of flights from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal till July 7


Passengers arrive at Islamabad International Airport. File

Gulf Today, Staff Reporter

The UAE airline Etihad Airways has extended the suspension of flights from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Nepal till July 7.

All passengers travelling from these countries will not be able to enter the UAE.

The decision also includes travellers who have visited the above-mentioned countries in the past 14 days.

The Etihad website said, “UAE Nationals, holders of UAE Golden Visas and members of diplomatic missions who comply with the revised published COVID‑19 protocols will be exempt for travel.”

The website also said that suspension may be extended further.  

UAE airlines have already announced the suspension of flights from India until July 6.

However, Indian and Pakistani expatriates, hit by travel restrictions, are hopeful that the UAE flights will resume soon as coronavirus cases are declining in their respective countries.

The inbound UAE flights have been suspended for travellers from India and Pakistan as part of the COVID-19 precautionary measures.

Many Indian and Pakistani expats are stuck in their native countries due to suspension of flights. Similarly, those who wish to visit their families back home have postponed their travel plans as uncertainty prevails over the flights’ status.


On the other hand, the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi (DCT Abu Dhabi) has issued the updated list of ‘Green List’ destinations (effective from June 13).

Passengers arriving from 28 countries will be exempt from mandatory quarantine measures after landing in Abu Dhabi and will only be required to undergo PCR testing upon arrival at Abu Dhabi International Airport.

Countries, regions, and territories included within the ‘Green List’ will be regularly updated based on international development. Inclusion in the list is subject to strict criteria of health and safety to ensure the well-being of the UAE community.

The list also only applies to countries passengers are arriving from rather than citizenship.

Please note below the updated ‘Green List’ destinations as of June 13:

1·      Australia

2·      Azerbaijan

3·      Bhutan

4·      Brunei

5·      China

6·      Cuba

7·     Germany

8·      Greenland

9·      Hong Kong (SAR)

10·      Iceland

11·      Israel

12·      Japan

13·      Kyrgyzstan

14·      Malta

15·      Mauritius

16·      Moldova

17·      Morocco

18·      New Zealand

19·      Portugal

20·      Russia

21·      Saudi Arabia

22·      Singapore

23·      South Korea

24·      Spain

25·      Switzerland

26·      Taiwan, Province of China

27·      USA

28·      Uzbekistan

Related articles