Bahrain suspends new work permits for citizens of 'red list' countries - GulfToday

Bahrain suspends new work permits for citizens of 'red list' countries


Photo used for illustrative purpose.

Gulf Today Report

The Labour Market Regulatory Authority (LMRA) in Bahrain has suspended the issuance of new work permits for those outside Bahrain in the countries listed on the red list temporarily.

The step came in response to the directives and procedures of the coordinative committee and the recommendations of the national team to combat COVID-19.

In a statement, LMRA said that this initiative aims at strengthening the Kingdom's tireless efforts to overcome the critical stage of the pandemic.

Earlier, Bahrain suspended the entry of travellers coming from the countries listed on the red list, namely India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Nepal, on all flights from May 24, 2021, including those coming from these countries who carry temporal entry permit to the Kingdom.

While, the citizens and valid residency visa holders from the entry will remain permitted to enter the country, as they must subject a precautionary quarantine for ten days in their homes or places designated for quarantine licensed by the National Health Regulatory Authority.

Moreover, they must present an approved COVID-19 PCR test result conducted not more than 48 hours prior to boarding their flight for Bahrain. Upon arrival in the kingdom, they are to subject another PCR test upon arrival and on the tenth day of their stay in the country.

The Kingdom confirmed that the countries on the red list are added or removed according to the assessment of the national medical team to combat COVID-19, and based on the relevant criteria in terms of the extent of the virus spread in countries. This list is reviewed and updated periodically, according to developments, the authorities confirmed.

Related articles